About G7 & GEAC

The Group of 7

[/vc_column_text][vc_column_text]For more than 45 years, the Group of Seven (G7) has represented an influential, informal grouping of what were once the most powerful economies which still produce nearly half of global gross domestic income. The G7 includes Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom, and the United States. In addition, the World Bank, the IMF and the European Union are represented at G7 with observer status. Russia was excluded in 2014 due to its violation of Ukraine’s sovereignty and territorial integrity.

The G7 is an informal network with no fixed organizational structures and an annually rotating presidency. In 2022, Germany assumes G7 presidency – following the G7 presidency of UK (2021), the canceled summit in the U.S. in 2020 and the G7 presidencies of France (2019) and Canada (2018).

“We will make the most of our G7 Presidency to ensure this group of states takes on a pioneering role – dedicated to climate neutrality and a just world,” Federal Chancellor Olaf Scholz stated at the start of German G7 Presidency. Further information on the G7 official website.

With their final declarations, the G7 summit meetings provide an important framework for cooperation and joint political as well as economic action among the G7 member states – and far beyond. The path to this goal leads through numerous ministerial meetings, as well as an accompanying civil society process with diverse engagement groups as interest groups.

In 2020, the German Development Institute has cooperated with Deutscher Frauenrat and the German Women Entrepreneurs to publish a paper on the implementation of G7 and G20 Gender Equality Goals in Germany. The study provides an interesting insight in the discussion to what extent governments indeed implement the actions they commit to at G7 level.

The Gender Equality Advisory Council

Founded under Canadian G7 Presidency, the Gender Equality Advisory Council (GEAC) is an independent group of experts appointed by each G7 country. The GEAC develops recommendations as to how the G7 should work together to ensure women are at the heart of its policy making. The GEAC aims to champion the core principles of freedom, opportunity, individual humanity and dignity for women and girls around the world and has therewith become a close partner to civil society in the Women7 cause. Past recommendations can be downloaded below. Please visit the GEAC’s website for further information.

Panel Discussion of the Gender Equality Advisory Council in Paris 2019

Panel Discussion of the Gender Equality Advisory Council in Paris 2019

GEAC Report 2018
GEAC Report 2019
GEAC Report 2021