Women7 Abschlussveranstaltung “We are here, we are loud! United against the backlash” am 14. Oktober 2022 im SchwuZ

14. Oktober 2022 |

Hier geht es zur Agenda und dem  speaker overview der Veranstaltung.

Zum Abschluss der deutschen G7-Präsidentschaft trafen sich die G7-Gleichstellungsminister*innen  und diskutierten darüber, wie eine geschlechtergerechte G7 erreicht werden kann. Women7 nutzte diese Gelegenheit, um ihr internationales Netzwerk von W7-Beraterinnen zusammenzubringen und ihre Empfehlungen und Forderungen für eine geschlechtergerechte Welt zu bekräftigen. Hier geht es zur Pressemitteilung. 

Der globale Gender Backlash bedroht nicht nur die Rechte von Frauen und LGBTIQ+ Menschen weltweit, sondern gefährdet auch das friedliche Zusammenleben und die demokratische Zivilgesellschaft. Am 14. Oktober 2022 kamen über 160 Teilnehmer*innen in Berlins ältestem Queer-Club SchwuZ zusammen, um mit Vertreter*innen aus Politik und Zivilgesellschaft zu diskutieren, wie diesen Bewegungen entgegengewirkt und eine geschlechtergerechtere Welt erreicht werden kann. „Wir sind hier, wir sind laut! Gemeinsam gegen den Backlash“ lautete das Motto des Abends. Neben verschiedenen Einblicken in die bisherige und künftige Arbeit der W7 standen hochrangige Redner*innen sowie eine Podiumsdiskussion über die Rolle der G7 bei der Bekämpfung des Backlash auf der Tagesordnung.

„Wir müssen gemeinsam gegen patriarchale Strukturen und Unterdrückung aufstehen und für eine geschlechtergerechte Zukunft kämpfen, die jeden von uns in seiner Vielfalt wertschätzt“, so Dr. Beate von Miquel, Vorsitzende des Deutschen Frauenrats, in ihrem Eröffnungsstatement. Margit Gottstein, Staatssekretärin im Bundesministerium für Familie, Senioren, Frauen und Jugend, und Masanobu Ogura, Minister für Frauenförderung und Staatsminister für Gleichstellung in Japan, antworteten in ihren Begrüßungsworten und betonten ihre Unterstützung für die Einbeziehung der Stimmen der feministischen Zivilgesellschaft in die G7-Verhandlungen.

Moderiert von DF-Bereichsleitung Juliane Rosin, lud die „Women7 Review Session“ die W7-Beraterinnen ElsaMarie D’Silva, Gründerin der Red Dot Foundation und Präsidentin der Red Dot Foundation Global, Prof. Dr. Lisa Davis, außerordentliche Professorin für Rechtswissenschaften, sowie Co-Direktorin der Human Rights and Gender Justice Clinic und Sonderberaterin für geschlechtsspezifische Verfolgung beim Internationalen Strafgerichtshofs, und Houraye Anne Mamadou, Leiterin des westafrikanischen Büros des Forums für afrikanische Erziehungswissenschaftler*innen, auf die Bühne, um über ihre Erfahrungen bei der Arbeit im Rahmen des Women7-Dialogs 2022 zu berichten. Mamadou betonte, dass die Auswirkungen der G7-Entscheidungen weit über die G7-Mitgliedsländer hinausgingen und auch Länder des globalen Südens beträfen. Die sinnvolle Einbeziehung und Vertretung zivilgesellschaftlicher Stimmen aus dem Globalen Süden müsse daher ein zentrales Ziel der G7-Agenda werden, sagte sie.

„Welche Rolle hat die G7 in der Bekämpfung des globalen Gender-Backlashes?“ war das Thema der 90-minütigen Panel Diskussion. Nach einer inspirierenden Keynote der US-Sonderbeauftragten für die Förderung der Menschenrechte von LGBTQI+ Personen, Jessica Stern, diskutierten Lesia Radelicki, Mitglied des Kabinetts von EU-Gleichstellungskommissar H. Dalli, Dr. Ulrich Oberndorfer, Leiter des G7/G20-Sherpa-Büros im Bundeskanzleramt, Erika Castellanos, Interimsgeschäftsführerin der Global Action for Trans Equality, Dr. Marianna Leite, Global Advocacy and Development Policy Manager der ACT Alliance, und  Kemi Akinfaderin, Chief Advocacy Officer, Fòs Feminista. Moderiert wurde die Diskussion von W7-Projektkoordinatorin Caroline Ausserer.

Schließlich kamen nochmal W7 als auch W20 Berater*innen auf die Bühne, um mit Moderatorin Juliane Rosin die nächsten Schritte für die bevorstehende Übergabe der G7 an Japan und den Wechsel von indonesischer zu indischer G20-Präsidentschaft zu diskutieren. Teil dieses Panels waren Hardiani Uli Silalahi, Vorsitzende der W20 Indonesien und Vorsitzende der Abteilung für Wirtschaft und internationale Beziehungen des Indonesischer Frauenkongress (Kowani), Evelyne de Gruyter, Co-Leiterin der deutschen W20-Delegation und Geschäftsführerin des Verbandes deutscher Unternehmerinnen (VdU), W7-Beraterin Fumie Saito, Direktorin bei der Japanischen Organisation für internationale Zusammenarbeit in der Familienplanung und W7 & W20-Beraterin Prof. Pam Rajput, Gründerin und Direktorin des Centre for Women’s Studies and Development sowie stellvertretende Vorsitzende der National Alliance of Women (NAWO).

Hier geht es zur Agenda und dem  speaker overview der Veranstaltung.

Zudem haben einzelne W7 Beraterinnen wie Cathy Orlando (Kanada) and Sini Heikkila (Finland) ihre Eindrücke in den folgenden Artikeln festgehalten:

31 October 2022 | The Sudbury Star – Time to deliver on gender equality and feminist policy

27 October 2022 | Cherie Blaire Foundation – Turning the tide for women’s rights through strengthening feminist coalitions

Women7 Outreach Event “We are here, we are loud! United against the backlash” on October 14, 2022

14 October 2022 |

 Download the event’s agenda and  speaker overview.

With the German G7 Presidency drawing to a close, it was now the turn of the G7 Gender Equality Ministers to meet and discuss how to achieve a more equitable G7. Women7 took this opportunity to gather its international network of W7 Advisors and reaffirm its recommendations and demands for a gender equitable world.

The global gender backlash not only threatens the rights of women and LGBTIQ* people worldwide, but it also endangers peaceful coexistence and democratic civil society. On October 14, 2022, over 160 participants from civil society and G7 governments came together in Germany’s oldest queer club to discuss how to counteract these movements and how to achieve a more gender-equal world. “We are here, we are loud! United against the backlash” was the motto of the night. In addition to various insights into W7’s past and upcoming work, the colorful agenda featured high-level speakers and a panel discussion on the role of the G7 in countering the backlash. Read the W7 Press Release here.

“We need to stand up together against patriarchal structures and oppression and fight for a gender-just future which values every one of us in all our diversity”, stated Dr. Beate von Miquel, President of the National Council of German Women’s Organizations, during her powerful opening statement. Margit Gottstein, State Secretary at the Federal Ministry for Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth and Masanobu Ogura, Minister in charge of Women’s Empowerment and Minister of State for Gender Equality Japan, responded in their welcoming remarks and emphasized their support for the inclusion of feminist civil society voices in G7 negotiations.

Led by moderator Juliane Rosin, the “Women7 Review Session” invited W7 Advisors ElsaMarie D’Silva, Founder of Red Dot Foundation and President of Red Dot Foundation Global, Prof. Lisa Davis, Associate Professor of Law, Co-Director of the Human Rights and Gender Justice Clinic and Special Adviser on Gender Persecution to the International Criminal Court Prosecutor, and Houraye Anne Mamadou, Head of the West African Office of the Forum for African Women Educationalists on stage to report on their experience of working with and within the 2022 Women7 Dialogue. Mamadou stressed that the impact of G7 decisions went far beyond the realm of G7 member countries and also affected countries in the Global South. Meaningful inclusion and representation of civil society voices from the Global South must therefore become a central goal of the G7 agenda, she said.

“How to counter the global gender backlash in the G7 and beyond” was the topic of the evening’s main panel moderated by W7 project coordinator Caroline Ausserer. Kicked off by an inspiring keynote by U.S. Special Envoy to Advance the Human Rights of LGBTQI+ Persons, Jessica Stern, the discussion included Lesia Radelicki, Member of Cabinet of EU Commissioner for Equality H. Dalli, Dr. Ulrich Oberndorfer, Head of G7/G20 Sherpa Office at the German Federal Chancellery, Erika Castellanos, Interim Executive Director of Global Action for Trans Equality, W7 Advisor Dr. Marianna Leite, Global Advocacy and Development Policy Manager at ACT Alliance and W7 Advisor Kemi Akinfaderin, Chief Advocacy Officer of Fòs Feminista.

Finally, Hardiani Uli Silalahi, Chairwoman of W20 Indonesia and Chair of the Department of Economy and International Relations at the Indonesian Women’s Congress (Kowani), Evelyne de Gruyter, Co-Head of the German W20 Delegation and General Manager of the Association of German Women Entrepreneurs (VdU), W7 Advisor Fumie Saito, Director for Global Advocacy at the Japanese Organization for International Cooperation in Family Planning and W7 & W20 Advisor Prof. Pam Rajput, Founder and Director of the Centre for Women’s Studies and Development and Vice Chair of the National Alliance of Women (NAWO) came on stage to discuss next steps for the upcoming G7 handover to Japan.

Watch our event movie to see the power of around 200 participants from civil society and G7 governments united for women and LGBTIQ* rights:

 Download the event’s agenda and the speaker overview.

Also, make sure to ready these interesting articles written by our W7 Advisors, Cathy Orlando (Canada) and Sini Heikkila (Finland):

31 October 2022 | The Sudbury Star – Time to deliver on gender equality and feminist policy

27 October 2022 | Cherie Blaire Foundation – Turning the tide for women’s rights through strengthening feminist coalitions